totally personal money question for working moms...

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by hsuter, Apr 30, 2010.

1. hsuter

hsuter Well-Known Member

I am just curious as to what you working moms pay for daycare? If I start working it will be $230 a week for both kids-the daycare provides food, diapers, wipes.
    I am also curious as to what kind of income you alone bring in after paying daycare? I've applied for a few jobs and am really concidering going back to work-we want to be able to travel some and make some more home improvements which we just cant afford to do on dh's student stipened ($30,000 pr yer). Unfortunately I have a degree in psychology, which is useless on its own, so I dont qualify for a whole lot of jobs. The job I just interviewed for is an Early Head Start position. It is a 45min commute (1 way), and after daycare and health insurance would be taken out I would bring home about $850, but thats before taxes and not counting gas. I just cant decide if its worth it and am looking for thoughts I guess?

2. sullivanre

sullivanre Well-Known Member

My DH works from home, and I take home about $3700 a month. I'm quitting my job, but we calculated that DH would ave to make about $4000 a month for it to be worth it for him to work outside the home, too. Of course, we're having a third child, and he has a $530 a month child support payment.

Probably doesn't help much, but that's out thought process.

3. Fossie

Fossie Well-Known Member