Sharing a bedroom

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Cjoy, Nov 18, 2013.

1. Cjoy

Cjoy Well-Known Member

Lately I am constantly separating my boys at naps and bed....they just won't sleep together right now.  Just tonight, they were up for a long time and I went in there to break them up and one had pooped on the carpet.  They thought it was just hysterical.  This is not the first time this has happened, but the first time in a while.   I am stumped on what to do.  I am at my wits end with discipline.  I have been consistent, I have taken away prized things, I have yelled, spanked, etc.  I am currently studying John Rosemond's practices, hoping this will help me get my family under control, but today I just feel defeated.  While earlier today they got themselves dressed, took themselves to the potty, barley fought and didn't use any bad words all day...at the end of the day, they pooped on the carpet. 

Can anyone offer any insight?

2. cheezewhiz24

cheezewhiz24 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

When they switched from cribs to toddler beds mine could not share a room and go to sleep together.

I split them for rest time- the easier sleeper lays on the couch downstairs with me in the same room.

At bed time for the last 6 months or so they go to bed one at a time. Whoever's special day it is goes to bed last and in the beginning it was about 45 minutes apart. For some reason if the first kid is asleep kid #2 doesn't wake them. They just love playing/getting into stuff/laughing if they are together and awake. We were tearing our hair out, too, but they are so used to it now that they go to bed much easier. Actually I'm just now contemplating doing a combined bedtime again. I *think* they can handle it now as I have shortened the spacing between the bedtimes and they will chat/giggle quietly.