MMR and autism

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by avenable, Aug 29, 2007.

1. avenable

avenable Member

I am a teacher in an elementary school, so I see and work with kids with autism all the time. The numbers keep going up every year and I've heard through professionals and nonprofessionals that there may be a link between the MMR shot and autism. Supposedly, the MIXTURE of the measles, mumps, and rubella vaccines is what MAY cause autism, so some doctors actually separate the vaccinces and give them that way. I went yesterday to my girls' one year appointment, and they don't separate them in my office. My doctor didn't discount the theory that it may cause autism, in fact she said her own child will have her's separated. However, she said there is no SCIENTIFIC evidence to back up the connection between autism and the MMR. She said I could wait until their 15 month appointment to give them the shot or go somewhere where they separate them. A
    Any advice????
    What did you do???
    Amy

2. meganguttman

meganguttman Well-Known Member

I didn't know that they could be separated. I would go somewhere else to have the shots given. The fact that your dr would want her child to have separate vaccines, I would want that too. I've also "heard" that the vaccines MAY be reacting to drugs that mom's were given during birth. It's such a scary situation. Good luck and let us know what you decide to do.

3. Gabe+2more

Gabe+2more Well-Known Member

My ped advised that it wasn't the combo MMR that was the problem, it was the thermisol in the shots that they originally thought created the link to autism. My Ped said that they no longer put that ingredient in the MMR vaccine AND that research is now showing it's more of a coincidence in the timing of the autism diagnosis than anything else. There is no scientific evidence backing the original theory of there being a link between the two.

I chose to vaccinate as scheduled by my Ped.

4. li li