Kids and state academic testing

Discussion in 'General' started by hudsonfour, Mar 23, 2015.

1. hudsonfour

hudsonfour Well-Known Member

Tomorrow my girls take the state assessment test. We just sat and had a discussion about doing their best, giving it their all....BLAH BLAH BLAH....Florida has leased the test from UTAH. Last year Utah had a 60% failure rate and this current year is looking at tossing the test out all together. As a teacher I question the validity of a test with such a high failure rate. As a parent I am disturbed by the student signature clause- DO NOT DISCUSS THIS TEST, post on instagram, facebook. tweet or any forms of social media. I want my kids to feel comfortable discussion information with their teacher, classmates and ME. My girls both talked about how the practice test questions really tricked them. UGH. 
    Do your kids face the same stress? Are your kids taking the test? Opting out? 

BTW, kids test performance is also tied to teacher evaluation in FL, which is also tied to pay scale- set to take effect this coming year. 

2. pretty girl

pretty girl Well-Known Member

My kids aren't in school yet. But I remember these stupid tests. I'm honestly considering home schooling my twins because of it

3. seamusnicholas

seamusnicholas Well-Known Member

We are refusing the PARCC test. This test is absolutely awful.  Join Opt out of the state test: the national movement.  Also you can friend me on FB as I have been rather active with this.  Below is the letter I read to board members and our curriculum director and superintendent:  Basically, these tests are changing the structure of education.  We need control back at the state and district level...not federal