Just went back to work full-time

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Shohenadel, Oct 23, 2011.

1. Shohenadel

Shohenadel Well-Known Member

Hi there. It's been forever since I've written. Life has been so busy. My husband and I have 4 daughters, an 8 year old, 6 year old, and 2 1/2 year old twins. I just went back to work full time in Sept. I'm a 4th grade teacher in an inner city school about 45 minutes away from where we live. I had been teaching at this school for over 10 years before I worked there part-time after I had my twins. I love my class but I have a few major behavior issues who are really draining. Plus the workload is unbelievable. My husband is at home with the girls. He has a home business (graphic design) and tries to get a few things done during the day, but needless to say that's pretty hard. When I get home at 4:30, the crazy hours begin. My husband needs some time to get some of his work done so I try to handle making dinner, doing baths, bedtime routines. Don't get me wrong, he does a LOT to help me. He is awesome, but the reality is that there are only 24 hours in a day and he needs some of them to get his work done for his clients. After the kids go to bed he goes to work on his computer and I on mine. I have plans to do, papers to correct, laundry to fold, etc. I work until about midnight and then make lunches and go to bed and get up at 6am to do it all over again. My husband usually goes to bed around 1am. We are both exhausted and overwhelmed. On the weekends, he needs a 'break" from doing full-time kid duty, so I end up trying to do most of it....so my "break" from work is actually taking over all the stuff he needs a break from. My older kids are pretty vocal about wishing that I didn't have to go to work. They want my time and attention. My twins are in the terrible-twos times two. They've had me here with them since they were born and now I"m gone all day. You can imagine how much attention they want from me when I ge