how does night time potty training occur?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by elhardy26, Jan 23, 2011.

1. elhardy26

elhardy26 Well-Known Member

Can someone explain either medically or psychologically how night time potty training occurs? The kids are sleeping, how can they be trained to "hold" their pee while they sleep?

both girls wake up at least 1x per week with wet jammies from a leaky diaper overnight and often DD1's diaper feels like it has 5lbs of pee in it when she wakes up. I just don't get how night PTing works...

thx!

2. maybell

maybell Well-Known Member

I have some issues still too... I find our best nights are when we limit water 2 to 3 hrs before bedtime... I'm still learning, though.

3. ldrane

ldrane Well-Known Member

Nighttime potty training is not really a learned skill, but rather a psychological development. You can't really 'teach' them to stay dry at night. The things I have found to help: Limit fluid intake at night and have them go potty right before bed. I have heard of others who wake their child during the night (like when the parents are going to bed) and have them go again. I have never done this with mine. I can usually tell if they start whimpering in their sleep, they probably need to go...at least 9 times out of 10 that is the case. They just don't always have the cognitive ability to wake themselves up. They just don't have that signaling mechanism yet (from the bladder to the brain).

4. megkc03

megkc03 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I know I am in the minority in this...but we successfully night trained my boys. I know many here will say it's not possible-and I don't disagree with them. For us, it just worked, for whatever reason.