Do you regret doing or not doing CIO? Will we?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by li li, Jan 6, 2007.

1. li li

li li Well-Known Member

I’m just visiting from the First Years’ board, seeking your experienced opinion

I’ve been dithering about doing CIO for the past 2 months (I’ve read Weissbluth and Mindell cover-to-cover and have ordered Ferber too … I've also read The Baby Whisperer, Gina Ford and Sears - I'm just too tired to make sense of any of them [​IMG]). The girls go down great for naps (mostly) with me sitting in the room shushing them and putting a hand on their backs. At night they fall asleep whilst I breastfeed them.

The problem is that, during the night, they’re nursing 3 times each (10 ish, 1 ish and 4 ish). Often they also wake at other times and I have to ease them back to sleep. And then they wake at 5 am most mornings. I am very tired. However I’m still not sure I can / want to / or should do CIO.

If you did / did not do CIO with your little ones, do you now regret your decision? (eg that you didn’t do CIO when they were younger and had to do it later or that you did CIO but it made things worse ….). I guess I’m asking if we’ll regret our decision to do it or not?

Many thanks for your expertise.
    Lisa

2. li li

li li Well-Known Member

I’m just visiting from the First Years’ board, seeking your experienced opinion

I’ve been dithering about doing CIO for the past 2 months (I’ve read Weissbluth and Mindell cover-to-cover and have ordered Ferber too … I've also read The Baby Whisperer, Gina Ford and Sears - I'm just too tired to make sense of any of them [​IMG]). The girls go down great for naps (mostly) with me sitting in the room shushing them and putting a hand on their backs. At night they fall asleep whilst I breastfeed them.