Yours, mine, and ours

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by babyhopes09, May 17, 2013.

1. babyhopes09

babyhopes09 Well-Known Member

Ok tell me... How do you manage your kids' possessions? I am over it. I mean... my little ones (i.e., twin DD's that are 3 and DS will be 2 in August) are driving me batty with the squawking, screaming, and tackling over possessions. I don't know whether to do the "who had what first" battle, let them work it out (which usually ends in major screaming and occasional physical aggression), turn taking with a timer....I work with kids for a living. I help teachers and parents manage behavior on a daily basis.. But this...this is a whole different ball game. Each of my kids has their own set of lovies that are off limits to their sister/brother and they seem to get this...all other toys/items are fair game. One DD hoards anything from food to clothes to toys to plates and spoons and she seriously believes that anything that is green, which is her favorite color,is hers. They tease eachother by taking a favorite toy and running away with it, which makes everyone scream.

What do you do?????? Do you separate the toys, books, etc..so that everyone has they're own stuff..what are your rules for sharing? What works best for you? I'm dying here! Thanks!

2. monica77

monica77 Well-Known Member

Ha ha funny - I have no advice for you - my kids are the same way - they are 2 and 8 months. I wanted to comment on the green thing - my daughter Vanessa loves green also and anything green has to be hers :), including Max's green pajama or underwear :). We had to explain the pajama and underwear thing to her - and she has green pajamas or underwear also - but she can't help it with green things :). What is it about green?

Needless to say, I am looking forward to see some suggestions also, I will follow this topic.

3. weegus

weegus Well-Known Member