Younger twin feels left out

Discussion in 'Childhood and Beyond (4+)' started by lee198, May 1, 2009.

1. lee198

lee198 New Member

Hi all,

Im a newbie here so, :wavey:

I have two girls, 6 years old who are in their first year of prep school. I noticed my younger twin was not herself lately, so to make her feel better I asked her who she played with at lunch time. She became very teary. I asked her what was wrong, she said that all the girls in her class liked her sister more than her. This surprised me as she is a very social, bubbly child. I thought to myself she is just over reacting, I thought surely , not all the girls would favour the older twin. However the next day they had a friend to come and play and I noticed the younger twin was not joining in, so I encouraged her to go and play. Next thing I know she dug in her heels and refused to join in. This took me by suprise b/c she has always been happy to go and play with other kids. She yelled out " She like my sister more than me". I said "don't be silly she likes you both". But I became apparent after talking more to my daughter and noticing the little girl only wanting to play with older twin that what the younger twin was feeling was acctually true. Also spending some time in the classroom it also confirms what my daughter is feeling.

I am worried about my younger daughters self-esteem (I never thought I would have to start worrying about self esteem issues at 6 yrs old) 1. She feels is not as good as her sister, 2. She is feeling a little hurt because the older twin wants to play with her other friends (even though they are close friends) 3. The older twin feels frustrated she has to "look after" her sister and misses out on playing with her friends. 4. How do I teach the younger twin make her own friends when the other girls are telling my daughter they prefer "the other twin"?