What is your day like w/ your 2-year-old twins?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Stephanie1074, Nov 19, 2009.

1. Stephanie1074

Stephanie1074 Well-Known Member

Hi there,

I don't post often and have not for a really long time. I used to all of the time when I was pregnant, but now time just disappears!

Anyway, my twins turned 2 11/6 and I think they have won the battle. I feel like my entire day is yelling and telling them not to do something. I was a teacher and I know all about praising the positives, but there just are not all that many and when I do praise the positives it does not seem to work... I read a book recently that was pretty much useless except for opne line... "twins are more likely to want to gain approval from one another than from the parent(s)." This is how I feel... They are only interested in entertaining or annoying one another, they do not care if i approve and prefer that I do not. They do enjoy gaining approval from their older sister who enjoys getting them going.

I remember people telling me in the first year forum that it would get easier... It never did... It changed and became less overwhelming, but honestly right now is SO much worse than it was when they were new!

I have one twin who is super aggressive and one who is only mildly aggressive, but I feel like I am always getting pinced, bitten hit hair pulled, the list goes on... and on.... I have tried time out, talking, showing the mark they made. You name it, I have tried it... Nothing seems to work or help.

I am a patient person, or at least I used to be. I taught kids w/ behavior disorders and never lost my patients... I no longer resemble any part of myself. I love my kids, regardless of their behaviors, but something has to change. I am at the end of my rope and I need help!

Sorry this is such a downer... I appreciate your words of wisdom!

2. DATJMom

DATJMom Well-Known Member

This will either make you laugh or make you cry. :lol: