vaccinate both at the same visit?

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by traceyp, Oct 25, 2009.

1. traceyp

traceyp Active Member

oh my, this is my first time on since the babies were born 8 wks ago! i knew i'd be busy but holy hell! on to my question...it's time for the two month jabs and i was wondering if i should go for two screaming babies or space out each of their visits just in case they both have a reaction (one sick baby at a time is better than two i'm thinking|). i'm a first-time mom so i don't really know what to expect from this doc visit and the aftermath.

any input/advice/opinions helpful!

2. kingeomer

kingeomer Well-Known Member TS Moderator

Congratulations on your babies. I vaccinate both at the same time. Neither baby had a reaction to the vaccines other then being really tired afterwards (especially at the 2 month vaccine). Good luck with your decision!

3. tinalb

tinalb Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I always did both at the same time. Really, reactions to the vaccines are rare & the most you should have is two mildly fussy babies. A bit of Tylenol should take care of that. Personally, I would rather get it over with in one day than have to make another trip to the doctor!

Congratulations, by the way, and :welcome: to First Year!

4. becky5

becky5 Guest

:wavey: I have always done their vaccines together. They did tend to be a little more fussy, but they also slept more. GL!

5. Callen

Callen Well-Known Member

I always vaccinated my two at the same time.

A helpful tip if you are nursing - I always nursed them during their shots & it minimized the pain & stress for them.

6. busymomof3

busymomof3 Well-Known Member

I did both at once and didn't have any problems with it. Best of luck with whatever you decide.

7. Utopia122

Utopia122 Well-Known Member

Both here as well, I really never knew I had any other option. My girls always did really well with them, thank goodness.

8. scrappycindy

scrappycindy Well-Known Member