*UPDATE* What to give? Teacher/aide gifts

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by MNTwinSquared, May 14, 2009.

1. MNTwinSquared

MNTwinSquared Well-Known Member

OK.. we have ONE more week of preschool and I assume that it is a time to give the teachers/aides gifts, right? What would an appropriate give be for a financially strapped family? We are looking at 5 people probably to give gifts to. Teachers? What is a good gift that you really smile about?

2. li li

li li Well-Known Member

Your wonderful scrapbook pages. Could you do one with the teachers and your kids?

3. 4lilmonkeys

4lilmonkeys Well-Known Member

I always do sets of handmade cards for the teachers at the end of the year. If you scrapbook already, you wouldn't even have to buy anything really!

4. threebecamefive

threebecamefive Well-Known Member

I'm a teacher and I'll share my favorites. If you want to actually *give" a gift, a gift card is the best. I have gotten some great gifts, but unless you know the teacher really well, or what their house looks like, etc, you never know if the gift really "fits". You just can't go wrong with a gift card.

With that said, as a teacher, I have given of myself 180 days of the past 9 months emotionally and physically to your child and 20+ others (obviously I don't teach pre-school :) ). Most often, we don't receive any feedback from parents unless they have a question or concern, especially as the kids get older. My absolute FAVORITE thing to get from a parent, or student, is a simple card with a note of appreciation for what I have done for your child. That's all, but it means the most and I have saved every single one I've gotten over the past 14+ years of teaching.