Two more toy questions

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by seamusnicholas, Jul 8, 2010.

1. seamusnicholas

seamusnicholas Well-Known Member

I was looking into these two toys for their bday:
    GEARS
    MAGNA-TILES

There are many options (sets) for both of these toys. Do you have any of these and do you like the set you have?

2. Utopia122

Utopia122 Well-Known Member

Well, since I'm a math teacher...I'm 100% for the magna-tiles. You could use them not only to teach them shapes (imagine them telling their teacher what an equilateral triangle is :D) but you can also teach them vertices, angles, sides, and the properties of each just with those shapes. And the fact that they can use these shapes to build things will just reinforce that geometry is everywhere! What an excellent product, I think I will be getting my girls some...heck I might even buy some for my classroom :)

As far as the gears, I don't have this particular product, but I have seen products like these, and I wonder how hard they are to turn. In my experience, gear type toys can sometimes not work if you don't get them together just right, and it just looks like, to me, that the magna-tiles will be something that would be easier to play with without a lot of adult intervention.

3. tinalb

tinalb Well-Known Member TS Moderator

We don't have either one, but I like the looks of those magnatiles! I'm going to keep those in mind, L&L have a birthday coming up before long...

4. Minette

Minette Well-Known Member

(See my other post about Wedgits too!)