Supplemental Insurance for babies in NICU

Discussion in 'General' started by morgendee, May 22, 2009.

1. morgendee

morgendee New Member

Hey, Everyone! I'm new to the blog! I'm expecting twin boys in August...yay!

My neighbor who has 4 y/o twins told me that she got a supplemental insurance policy during her pregnancy (even while she was already on bedrest) that paid $1000 a day per child for every day the babies were in the NICU. Now, of course no one wants their babies to have to go to the NICU, but this money would be well used to cover the expenses of what a NICU can incur.

She, nor her husband, remember the insurance provider. I'm DESPERATE to try to find this policy myself, but come up with nothing when googling the same! Help!

Does anyone have any information about this type of insurance and what provider I can contact to try to get it?

thank you so very much!

2. snoopytwins

snoopytwins Well-Known Member

Not sure. I know when I got supplemental insurance coverage (got extra ER, cancer, heart, and ICU coverage) for myself and family last year, just after finding out I was pregnant, I was specifically told that it would not cover Bella because I was already pregnant. It would cover me if I needed any ICU time (if something happened during delivery), but would not cover any NICU time if baby required it.

Hope you find something though! Good luck!

3. Babies4Susan

Babies4Susan Well-Known Member

I looked into this, but it couldn't be purchased when you already pregnant. Well, it could be purchased but it wouldn't cover the babies or my stays since I was already PG. It was through AFLAC, and it paid $100/day, not $1000. I'm really doubting there's a policy for NICU coverage that can be purchased when you are already PG with twins that pays $1000/day. If there is it is probably very expensive insurance.

4. debbie_long83

debbie_long83 Well-Known Member