Silent Reflux

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by kellytwinmom, May 7, 2008.

1. kellytwinmom

kellytwinmom Well-Known Member

I know I know....another post about reflux!

Julia was finally put on Zantac tonight after going through other means of trying to help her while she is eating. Right now she is crying, moving her head back and forth, arching her back, kicking off of me all while eating.

She does NOT spit up. Never has. She usually takes 3-4 ounces every 3 hours but is back down to 2 ounces. Should I try a Soy formula or other type of formula or just try the medicine first.

Or, what if it is just really bad gas?

I hate seeing her like this!

2. Kyrstyn

Kyrstyn Well-Known Member

Sounds like reflux to me. Is she grunting at all? Our pedi put my girls on prevacid and it made a huge difference all around. I have no experience other than what I have read on here about zantac. I hope Julia is feeling better soon!! :hug99:

3. Prairiegirl

Prairiegirl Active Member

My DS had silent reflux and thankfully was diagnosed at 6 weeks. He never spit up either, just arched his back, screamed and all over colicky! Our ped. put him on a high dose :( of Losec (Omeprazole) and that cleared it up fairly soon. They didn't bother doing the tests for reflux, b/c of his age and decided to do a trial of meds instead. For your reference -- Zantac is considered the less-serious of reflux meds, Omeprazole is one of the more serious ones, so that's good news for your little girl!

4. mrsriney00

mrsriney00 Well-Known Member

We had the same symptoms and have been on zantac for a week and the change is amazing!! Within 2 days we started seeing a change and now a week out we only had an hour and a half of crying tonight compared to the usual 4-5. No fussing while feeding and they are sleeping so much longer at night and going down much easier. I'm even getting some smiles now! They'll actually sit and look around instead of screaming! Love it.