Should I stop being a SAHM?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Sarah4590, Feb 19, 2007.

1. Sarah4590

Sarah4590 Active Member

My intent is NOT to get into some kind of debate about working vs. SAHM. I really need some input from both types of Mom's.
    A little backround. I have a 17yo ds and 19month b/g twins. One month before getting preg with twins I lost my job to downsizing. One month after the preg news came the twins news. We were thrilled that 5 yrs of trying a FINAL IVF worked. It finacially did not make sense for me to seach for a job while prego and working in a medical office did not make enough to cover daycare for the twins.
    Fast forward to my life with the twins....I feel like I am not very good at this SAHM stuff. I was never a neat freak but I feel like I am always stuck in a messy house. It is just overwhelming to see there is so much that needs to get done but it gets undone so quickly that I just quit trying. I feel I'm not as patient as I should be with the twins. My entire day is spent getting them off tables, off the computer desk, out of the bathroom etc. Our house is a ranch and it seems impossible for me to really shut access to these areas. I feel like I am always yelling and loosing my temper when I have to get them/tell them for the 10th time "no" by 8am. I just feel like I am burned out and that "everybody" does a better job at this SAHM stuff than me, like I'm failing at it. I'm so tired of my messy house, whiney kids and not getting anything acomplished that needs to like cleaning bathrooms, floors and laundry. It is so hard to be motivated when tomorrow will be the same thing. Fights and messes.

Am I the worst Mom ever?

My dh is not the most helpful when it comes to housework. It's tough because I feel like he works all day and I should have a better handle on things as far as the home.

My MIL take the twins every saturday for 5 hours or so and that is my only break