School shoes

Discussion in 'Childhood and Beyond (4+)' started by Leighann, Aug 18, 2011.

1. Leighann

Leighann Well-Known Member

I know I'm not technically a member of this forum yet, but my girls are starting pre-k in 3 weeks at our local elementary school and I thought my question would be more appropriate for the elementary school mommas. My girls will have gym 3 days a week and need to wear sneakers on gym days. While you would think this wouldn't be an issue, my one DDs who is very girly right now, insists on wearing dresses every day. I figure I'll just put leggings or bike shorts under her dresses on gym days (or probably every day for that matter), but I'm anticipating her fighting me on wearing sneakers with dresses. We've had this fight more than once in the last couple of months because "SNEAKERS DON'T LOOK PRETTY WITH A DRESS MOMMY!!!" :wacko:

Soooo I am taking them to get their feet measured today and was looking online and saw mary-jane type shoes that have sneaker-like bottoms. Do you think these would be ok for gym class? Or I could pack her sneakers to change into during gym (the few times I insisted she wear sneakers this summer- during long walks and hikes- she insisted I pack her sandals so she could change into them when we got to our destination). Also, feel free to tell me I'm being too much of a push-over, indulgent mom. I never thought I'd have a girly-girl DD, and I can't believe I give into her so much.

1 person likes this.
  2. TwinxesMom

TwinxesMom Well-Known Member

The Mary Jane style would be fine. Mostly they look for closed toed and non marking soles

3. MLH

MLH Well-Known Member