Pictures from Basic Combat Training

Discussion in 'General' started by HealysBakersDozen, Sep 21, 2008.

1. HealysBakersDozen

HealysBakersDozen Well-Known Member

Hi Guys,
    I graduated Basic Combat Training on the 12th of September and my whole family was there. Then, they took me up to Aberdeen Proving Grounds, MD., where I'm in my Advanced Individual Training (AIT) for the next three months. BCT was hard but I had a great time. The Army is definitely for me. AIT is hard too because additionally to the physical training (at 05:00 hrs. every morning) and the PT tests, we are is school all day and have to perform well there to graduate AIT. After school, we do more physical training and go to bed early. So, there is very little free time. I don't have a lot of time to write at the moment but will tell you my story very soon.
    Kit and the kids are great! Ben, my oldest, went off to college at the University of Fayetteville, N.C., where he has received a full scholarship for basketball. He's 6'8" and the center on the basketballteam. His major is math and he's doing very well. My second, third and fourth sons want to join the military when they are old enough (and so do my 3 little girls, lol, they know the Army song and several cadences already). For starters, I'm including three pics from my last 2 days of Basic, before and after graduation. The first pic is taken with my favorite Drill Sergeant who was my idol and mentor throughout my whole BCT experience. The second pic is me with another "Wolfpack" (name of our Platoon) and the third pic is me and some battle buddies of the same Platoon. Our Platoon consisted of 50 soldiers.
    The entire time, I ran with A trained, which meant the fastest runners in the company. We were 40 out of the 212 troops and only 5 females made it into the elite. My run time averages 15:22 mins for the 2 mile run. Oh, and I made sharpshooter with my M16. I loved the various weapons and ranges. But more about that another day!