pediasure

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by hannahshope, Jul 22, 2009.

1. hannahshope

hannahshope Well-Known Member

hey everyone,
    my ped suggested trying pediasure for my twin that is in the 5% at one year. she is close to 18 lbs. what are your thoughts on using this. we are on similac sensitive and mostly table food now. i haven't made the transition to whole milk yet...what do you all think???

2. Beth*J

Beth*J Well-Known Member

I'm no doctor, but I don't think it's really all that necessary if she is consistently growing and on a good growth curve. I have one daughter that is less than one percentile and the other is 3 percentile. They are both about 19 pounds at 19 months. The doctor has never mentioned adding anything like that to their diet. We feed them a healthy, well-balanced diet and I really don't care to spend the extra money on Pediasure. I do try to give them high fat foods like pudding, yogurt, etc. though. My kids were preemies and will probably be small people since I am small and their father isn't a giant either. Some people are just small. I'm not telling you not to listen to your doctor, I'm just saying that my kids are super small and I haven't been overly concerned about it since they are following their growth curve.

3. abrinka

abrinka Well-Known Member

I am adding just 1 oz of pediasure into their bottles to get more calories. My pedi said it is OK. Twins are having their 1 year check up next week and I know that they both will not gain much weight if any.I believe she will suggest to stay on formula for litle longer to get more calories. Along with pediasure I add extra scoop of formula powder and for my DD who is spoon fed(she refuses bottle and that is the only way to give her formula) her formula I add 3 scoops of any cereal(per pedi).GL

4. 4jsinPA

4jsinPA Well-Known Member TS Moderator