One more post-pediatrician visit question regarding vitamins

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by LHigh, Mar 9, 2011.

1. LHigh

LHigh Well-Known Member

Sorry for the multiple questions. I'm a rookie mom and I second guess everything. I always feel better when I run things by you guys for opinions!

Last visit, our doctor recommended vitamins for the twins (12 weeks, born at 35w6d gestation, spend almost exactly 2 weeks in the NICU mainly for feeder/grower issues). We dutifully bought infant vitamins and gave them to them for three days. The vomited them up -- it was beyond spitting them up, definitely more violent than spitting up. We called the NICU and had them look at our charts to see if vitamins were recommended at discharge, and they weren't -- the NICU nurse we spoke with said if the doctor didn't recommend them, we didn't need to administer. We happily stopped giving them since they were obviously disagreeing with them. At this month's visit, she urged us again to start giving them. The babies are on a 1/2 breastmilk (expressed), 1/2 formula (Enfamil Lipil for premature babies) regimen.

Do you feel vitamins are essential? Since we've got two dissenting medical opinions, we're confused. Although we're inclined to go with the NICU doctor, since it seems like they're a bit more informed to preemie needs.

Thanks for your help.

2. megkc03

megkc03 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I know my boys were prescribed some vitamin, or we were told to get it. I do remember Annabella was as well. And to be honest, I'm really bad at giving it to them. In fact, I'm horrible at it. I have gummy ones for the boys now and Annabella still has the prescription. If I remember twice a week I'm quite impressed.

My boys are 3 1/2 and are doing pretty good in my opinion! :)

3. rrodman

rrodman Well-Known Member

We never did vitamins until they were a couple years. But we never had a recommendation from a doctor to do so either.

4. maybell

maybell Well-Known Member