Newbie with 5 month old girls

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by ppcmom, Jul 14, 2011.

1. ppcmom

ppcmom Member

HI, i have 5 month old twin girls, this is my first time finding this board. I have been very sick, had a rare cardiomyopathy after the twins, so haven't sought out much advice. I am slowly feeling better. MY question is about going out with twins. I have only been out with the twins twice on my own, it tires me out so much(with my bad heart) but I would like to go out more now that they are getting older. My question is if you have two that want to be held a lot and cry in new places how do you manage going shopping. I cannot physcially hold them both. When does it get easier going out with them. I am so isolated right now.

2. Dielle

Dielle Well-Known Member

Congratulations on your girls! And sorry about your health issues!

Do you have a stroller where they can both face you? That helped some. I also would pack a sling in my bag. I could manage, if they both started really needing to be held, to put one in the sling and hold the other in my arms. Of course that didn't work for an entire shopping trip, but I could usually settle them down decently that way. Are there any neighbor middle-school aged girls who'd like to go with you as a mama's helper? Maybe you could pay them a little to be an extra set of hands. My oldest was 7 when I had my twins and even she was a great help to snuggle one of them if they both needed some soothing at the same time. Or if you have a friend who has even an older toddler who'd be fine in a stroller, maybe she could hold a baby for a bit if they both get upset at the same time. Having an extra set of hands is a huge help.