neb treatments - she HATES it

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by doubledownmom, Jan 18, 2008.

1. doubledownmom

doubledownmom Well-Known Member

DD (19monthsold) was wheezing this morning and so we took her to the pedi's office....she said her wheezing is being caused by her cold that is viral and that we have to give her neb treatments every 4-6hours for the next 7 days!!!

I am a nurse and I give neb treatments all the time - to ADULTS (people that you can reason with)!! We gave her the first one at the doctor's office and she literally acted like we were stabbing her in the eye she screamed and kicked so much....

how in the world am i going to do this to her over and over again for the next week?? and her sweet sister cried too because she thought we were hurting her....

anyone have any advice on how to get through this?? or how to get her to stay calm??

2. akameme

akameme Well-Known Member TS Moderator

we give jake a bottle or his favorite book.....but he has been getting the treatments since he was six months old.

We also don't use the mask...we just blow the medicine in the general direction of his nose mouth.

Right now we can still put him in his bucket seat, i fear the day when he won't fit in that anymore.

3. ihavesevensons

ihavesevensons Well-Known Member

Actually, the more she screams, the more effective the treatment will be...............she has to breathe deeply to scream and carry on.....the deeper she breathes, the better the meds get into her lungs, the more effective the treatment.

4. Kerry1976

Kerry1976 Well-Known Member