I feel stupid....24 month vs. 2T?

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by bmatlock, Sep 3, 2010.

1. bmatlock

bmatlock Well-Known Member

i've been buying my boys 24month clothes and have seen the 2T, 3T, etc. clothes at the stores. my husband asked when we're supposed to move up to the 2T clothes and i stupidly said, 'when they're 2 years old'....but that's 24 months, so what's the difference? does 2T come AFTER 24 months? or is 2T generally for 2 year olds, 3T for 3 year olds, etc....
    i'm still a rookie!

2. Minette

Minette Well-Known Member

What I've read (I think) is that 24 months has more room in the rear (for the diaper) than 2T, which may fit a child wearing underpants.

However, I treated them exactly the same. There's so much variation in sizes anyway, whatever difference there might be between 24m and 2T is pretty irrelevant. (At around age 2, my DDs were wearing some things in size 12m and others in 3T!)

3. marijanad

marijanad Well-Known Member

I've compared them and sometimes I find the 2T pants are a bit longer, like it gives them more room to grow into the pants I guess.

4. maybell

maybell Well-Known Member

I also don't think you'll find 2T onesies... those are 24 mo. so I think that goes along with the diaper vs. underwear idea.

5. kingeomer

kingeomer Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I also have noticed that 2T pants are longer then 24 months. My two have no waist, so they still just barely fit in 2T :faint:

6. 5280babies

5280babies Well-Known Member

I worked for a children's store briefly and they did explain to me that 24 mos allows for babes still in diapers and 2T caters to the potty trained. There was not that much of a difference though I didn't think.

7. miss_bossy18

miss_bossy18 Well-Known Member TS Moderator