Homemade laundry detergent ?

Discussion in 'General' started by christinam, Aug 31, 2011.

1. christinam

christinam Well-Known Member

I'm new to this. I bought the Borox and washing soda. Now I just need the bar soap. Im going off the recipe that uses Fels Naphia (sp) soap. If I can't find this what other options do I have? I looked back and can't find other detergent posts.

Also can I use this with cloth diapers? I assume so because it doesn't have all the added chemicals like name brand detergents.

2. twinmom2dana

twinmom2dana Well-Known Member

I don't make my own detergent but I do know you should check manufacturers instructions when using the recipe. Soaps, such as Fels Naptha cause fire resistant material to lose their resistance. Some children's bedding and pj's and such are flame retardant and your recipe will negatively affect that. Good luck!

3. christinam

That's not an issue here. The girls don't wear those type of sleepers.

4. cheezewhiz24

cheezewhiz24 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I make soap with that recipe. I just ordered a bar of Fels Naptha from Amazon.com. It's pretty cheap ($3- I have free shipping due to Amazon Mom), but I've heard that places like Ace Hardware have them. I'm going to scout around for it before the next batch. I split my 5 gal recipe with a friend (family of 5) and it lasts us MONTHS. The best part is we go in on the cost- next time she'll buy the soap and the scent we add (usually lavender).

5. Mellizos

Mellizos Well-Known Member