Help finding maternity clothes

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by DblStuffOreo, Jan 22, 2010.

1. DblStuffOreo

DblStuffOreo Well-Known Member

Ok ladies, I am putting out a DESPERATE SOS :help: asking for help finding maternity clothes that are (1) not complete circus tents and (2) not totally unhip. Extra bonus if it is something professional.

I am an attorney who is expecting twins in May. I am still working and I need something more than t-shirts and maternity jeans. I have been making due buying simple, non-maternity dresses with empire waists, but I am just TOO BIG now. (Plus friends were starting to comment that the hem lines of my dresses were creeping up.)

I have tried ordering from Old Navy maternity on-line, and only one out of three items (jeans) was not a total disaster. I desperately need help and appreciate any and all (1) source suggestions and (2) sizing help and hints.

About me: I am 5'8" and usually wear pants with tall or long inseams. Pre-pregnancy I weighed 130. Now I am 167 and all belly.

Thought for the day - Any designer who makes maternity clothes out of material with loud or intricate patterns needs to be drug out back and shot!

2. lharrison1

lharrison1 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I would try and google and see what all comes up.
    To me...maternity pants never look professional. Target sells some pretty dresses and skirts, you may look there.
    I am with you on the loud intricate patterns! not good, not good at all!

3. kstjean

kstjean New Member

A Pea in the Pod has some good work stuff, and Olian (sold at Norstrom.com) makes some nice dresses and shirts. Those are where I had the most luck with work clothes.