gall bladder surgery - recovery time?

Discussion in 'General' started by eagleswings216, Jun 3, 2014.

1. eagleswings216

eagleswings216 Well-Known Member

I've got an official consult tomorrow with the surgeon, but based on ultrasound and other tests, it looks like I'm facing having my gall bladder out.  For anyone whose been through this recently, what's a realistic recovery time?

I work as a mental health counselor in an elementary school, and I am working summer school - 3 weeks smack in the middle of summer.  So not a super physically demanding job, but I do sit on the floor and do activities, etc. 

We also have a vacation planned, and possibly a trip to see family several states away, so I'm trying to wrap my mind around how to plan around a surgery, too, and if it's possible to do all this in the 2 months I have to work with, or if something is going to have to be canceled.  Once the school year starts again (mid-August for me), I have only 2 paid days off all year, so I HAVE to get the surgery done this summer if it's happening.

2. kim01

kim01 Well-Known Member

I had it done several years ago, the incision was only about 1/2 inch. Recovery was only about a week. It really wasn't that bad especially compared to the other many many surgeries I had. take your pain meds and just let your body heal. but it isn't that bad, I think you will be able to do summer school and the vacations you have planned.

3. kingeomer

kingeomer Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I think you will be fine.  I had mine taken out in 2005 was in the hospital between 24-36 hours.  I had a laparoscopic surgery done.  My surgeon had told me before the surgery that he would not know if he would be able to remove it laparoscopically or have to cut me open (which is what they did when my Mom had hers removed in the 80's).  I missed a week of work because I wasn't allowed to drive and followed up with the surgeon a  week later, was back to work and pretty much back to normal.