Does your school do this

Discussion in 'Childhood and Beyond (4+)' started by daasmommy, Oct 22, 2008.

1. daasmommy

daasmommy Well-Known Member

This is my first year in school. And boy has it changed since I was little. (wow that makes me sound old :eek: )

Instead of a Halloween party, the boys are having a Fall Festival this Friday. And since it is not a Halloween party they are not dressing up. Why even have a party at all? They have a Christmas party not a Holiday party. I am so confused :unsure: .

2. sharongl

sharongl Well-Known Member

We actually have a Holiday party in the winter time, but do have a Halloween party. The kids dress in their costumes, and then have a party at the end of the day on Halloween.

3. ehm

ehm Banned

We have a fall festival, no Halloween party and no Christmas party. Nothing is specific to any one holiday, it is winter carnival, fall festival etc etc. Fall is a great time of year to celebrate, the children make applesauce, drink cider, study/paint pumpkins. They really enjoy the festival and have never dressed up any of their school years so they don't know what they are missing ( I remember dressing up and parading through classrooms etc etc).

(They paint pumpkins not pain pumpkins)

4. jxnsmama

jxnsmama Well-Known Member

The school Hayden and Brady attended last year was the first one I've been involved with that did not have a Halloween party/parade. The classrooms had fall parties. There were no costumes, and the focus had to be autumn.

The principal gave several reasons:

1. Not all the kids can afford costumes, so it's not fair that some get to dress up and some don't.
    2. With costumes, you can't tell who people are, and someone might sneak in who has no business being in the school.
    3. Costumes and a parade take too much time away from classwork.