Corrected Age

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by knockedup, Oct 25, 2007.

1. knockedup

knockedup Active Member

My boys were born on Aug. 26th...at 33.6 weeks. What would their corrected age be? And could someone explain why this is important? I'm new to everything, so I need a little help. Thanks so much! :rolleyes:

2. fuchsiagroan

fuchsiagroan Well-Known Member

Corrected age just means that you pretend that they were born on their due date, not their actual birth date. It is important because that's the maturity level you should expect from them for all the important developmental stuff (sleep, milestones, starting solids, etc). The reason to use adjusted age instead of actual age is that being born early doesn't make the brain & body fast-forward from the level of a 33.6 fetus to a 40 wk newborn.

Congrats on your sweet babies!

3. Trishandthegirls

Trishandthegirls Well-Known Member

Hi,

Just like the PP said, corrected age (also called adjusted age) is important because it will help you understand why your twins might be "behind" other babies their actual age in terms of sleeping through the night, rolling over, walking, etc. Many doctors recommend using corrected age for babies born early up until they're about 2 years old. Some people drop the corrected age calculations earlier, though, if their babies are meeting their actual age milestones on time.

You mention that your babies were born at 33.6 weeks on August 26th. That means your due date was something like October 8th? If so, your babies corrected age for today (October 25th) is 2.5 weeks. So, when you read baby books, don't be surprised of yours act more like 2 week old babies than 8 week old babies in terms of how much they eat and sleep.

Good luck, and keep checking back here. I have found so many helpful suggestions and great support on this site!

4. tammygb

tammygb Well-Known Member

does this apply if they were born at 38 weeks, or just for preemies?

5. summerfun