Confused about jogging strollers

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by AmberG, Jul 2, 2010.

1. AmberG

AmberG Well-Known Member

My twins are 18 months old and we have just one stroller, a double umbrella. We just moved to an area with a nice lake that we like to walk around. I love taking long walks, taking the kids to the park, etc. The umbrella stroller works fine, but sometimes I think it would be nice to have a jogger, too. (I have no experience with twin jogging strollers, though).

We are expecting baby #3 in Sept, when the twins will be 21 months old. I don't think I want to get a triple jogger because they are so wide. I've been considering the following:

-Getting a used inexpensive double jogging stroller. However, I am wondering if only having 2 seats will be a problem when baby #3 comes. I will wear the new baby for awhile, but I don't think I'll want to do that long-term. Is it possible to take 3 kids on a 2-3 mile walk without a stroller that fits everyone?

-Getting the Valco twin tri-mode with the toddler seat. There are a couple of used ones on the local Craigslist (one is going for $250 and one for $350, does not include toddler seat). Would this work well for 2 toddlers and a baby? It seems like it would work better for 2 babies and 1 toddler. I would only get the Valco twin if I plan to use the toddler seat since they are pricey.

Any thoughts or better options that I am overlooking?

Also, how long can I expect that my twins will need to be in a stroller?

2. betha

betha Well-Known Member

Hi, I can't help with all of the questions. I just bought a used jogging stroller on craigslist for 200. I just want to caution you....DON"T buy a fixed wheel running stroller. It won't meet your needs.