Bottle Nipples

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by Vero, Jul 18, 2007.

1. Vero

Vero Well-Known Member

New mom here - Just wondering - how long do you recycle the nipple for? 1 month? 2 months?
    I wash and boil all my bottles and nipples after every use. But now I'm wondering how long is it sanitary to keep the same nipple.

Sorry if it's a silly question. :rolleyes:

2. CHJH

CHJH Well-Known Member

I think it's safe to use them until they don't seem to come clean anymore or the hole is ripped. I've been using mine for over three months without a problem. If you were using the same two everytime then you might need to replace them but twin mums tend to have many that they cycle through each day. I know Avent says to replace them after two months or something but I think it's just so they can make more money!! If you take good care of them I think they'll last and last. Just my opinion.

3. Hillybean

Hillybean Well-Known Member

I used ours until the girls moved up to the next size (we use Dr. Brown's bottles). I would guess that I used some of them for up to 6 months. They both seem to be alive and kickin' so I guess no harm done :D

4. Mommydee

Mommydee Well-Known Member

wow- that's a lot of boiling!!! i think i boiled mine before the first use and that was that!!! we have a dishwasher, so we usually use it with occasional handwashing. as long as they look good, i think they're ok to continue using. i'd say we've been using these since moving to the bigger bottles (~5-6 months?)

5. mandyfish3

mandyfish3 Well-Known Member

Wow, I can't believe you boil that much! You are a dedicated mommy!

We just boil then once when they are new. I wash throughout the day then run through the dishwasher when I can.

I've been using the same nipples for about 2 months now, no problems as of yet. I think as long as they aren't torn or dirty, you are good!

6. jschaad

jschaad Well-Known Member