2 Year Old & Speech Therapist

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Katheros, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Katheros

Katheros Well-Known Member

I've mentioned in passing on here that my 2 year old doesn't talk.  He has about 5 words that he says and that's it.  He does not put two words together.  Apparently "uh oh" doesn't count. :(  He had his 2 year check up this morning so I talked with his provider about it and she's going to give him a referral for speech therapy and to get his hearing checked just in case.  I don't think he has a hearing problem, but just to be safe.  Anyway, if anyone could just give me a good idea on what to expect speech therapy to be like at this age, or if he'll be evaluated first and then go from there.  I've never done this before! 

As always, thanks in advance. :D

2. megkc03

megkc03 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

He will be evaluated and then you will go from there. :) My boys had speech as infants and then Anthony qualified again at 3.5 years old.

As he is under three, the whole EI team will come out and evaluate in all areas. Then they wil meet and give their recommendations for services. It really is a relatively smooth process. And the EI group we went through also had a playgroup so I could bring boys there once a week as well.

Good luck! Let us know how it goes. :)

1 person likes this.
  3. mama_dragon

mama_dragon Well-Known Member