Baby wearing advice!

Discussion in 'The First Year' started by emp59, Dec 12, 2012.

1. emp59

emp59 Well-Known Member

My baby isn't here yet and my twins are much older, but I figure this would be the best place to get advice about this matter! I have an ergo and I'm trying to decide between buying the infant insert or a moby wrap. I was hoping DH would have a preference, but he will wear anything. Which works better for a newborn?

2. miss_bossy18

miss_bossy18 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

For me, the moby, hands down. I was never able to get the ergo to fit me properly but the moby waa infinitely adjustable. I did find I had to tie it quite a bit tighter than I expected when I first put it on to keep baby snug and in the right position.

3. FGMH

FGMH Well-Known Member

For us, the ergo-type carrier with a newborn insert did not work until around the 6-8 week mark. I used a long wrap so I have no experience with a moby, but I hear they are good and very adjustable.

4. Amycplus

Amycplus Well-Known Member

I used a wrap in the beginning and then the infant insert on the ergo later. The ergo felt way to big at first, even with the insert but when they both started to resist the wrap the ergo was a godsend. We continued to use the seat part of the infant insert after they outgrew the wrap around part just to give them some extra height. Hth.

5. cheezewhiz24

cheezewhiz24 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I loved the Moby with A. It held her snugly when she just wanted to be held as a new, newborn and we had stuff to do.

6. AKilburn

AKilburn Well-Known Member

I use the moby with Jackson, he loved it, adalynn not so much, now I use the ergo with both, DH and I both have one and we'll strap them in and do things around the house/yard or go for a walk

7. emp59

emp59 Well-Known Member

Thanks ladies! I will order the moby now :) Now to continue trying to convince DH that we don't need an infant seat, just a convertible!

8. j-squared