Newbie here. Hello!

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by Globetrekker81, Sep 22, 2010.

I'm still in a bit of a shock. I was told I couldn't have children, then a few weeks ago, at 41 years old, I was told I was pregnant. Then we found out about the twins during my 9 week ultrasound. Whew! It is alot to take in - especially since I have never changed a diaper before. Lots to learn!

Anyway, this website has been really helpful and I know I will have many questions to come.

The first one being - How often do you go see your doctor for ultrasounds? My OBGYN has me scheduled every 3 weeks through the second trimester. Is that normal?

:) Nicole

1. aquickworld

aquickworld Well-Known Member

Congrats and Welcome to TS! I go to the OB ever 3 weeks(was every 1-2 in the beginning) and also to the Perinatologist every 4 weeks. I feel like I am constantly at the Dr but it's also nice seeing my little girls so much :)

2. cheezewhiz24

cheezewhiz24 Well-Known Member TS Moderator

Hi Nicole.

Welcome to TS!

About the ultrasounds- what kind of twins do you have? Di/di are treated differently than mono/di and mono/mono twins are different still.

3. Adding 2 more!

Adding 2 more! Well-Known Member

I am only 14.5 weeks and our pregnancy was a surprise and at 10 weeks we discovered two! I totally feel what you are going through! I wanted to say welcome and Im interested in some of the other ladies answers here....
    What is di and mono that you guys use as abreviations all the time?

4. cheezewhiz24

Ah, sorry.

Di/di is Dichorionic-Diamniotic (2 placentas-2 sacs). The safest form of twins who do not 'share' anything. They can be identical or fraternal.

Mono/di is Monochorionic-Diamniotic (1 placenta-2 sacs). Generally has more monitoring and a slightly earlier 'birthday' if you will due to concerns about the placenta failing the babies at the end. (Ladies, please feel free to correct me if I'm mistaken in this!) These babies are identical.