Early Intervention

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by Beth*J, Aug 4, 2010.

1. Beth*J

Beth*J Well-Known Member

My girls qualified for Early Intervention because of their low birth weight. I'm a teacher, so I was pretty sure I could tell if they were meeting milestones on time and if there were concerns, but I figured that it never hurts to have another pair of eyes watching. Basically, they've been getting 45 minutes of physical therapy/Early Childhood Special Ed once a month. We just needed to do a big evaluation to see if the girls would qualify for services after they turn 3. I thought Annelise might possibly qualify for speech, but was pretty convinced neither would qualify for anything else. Annelise tested right at age level for speech last week, so I was expecting to hear in the meeting today that there were no concerns and they don't qualify for services. I did hear that about Karina, which is what I expected. They told me they have huge concerns about Annelise's gross motor skills though. She tested at a 23-month-old level (she is 31 months). That's a standard deviation of -1.2 and you need a standard deviation of -1.5 to qualify for services. That means she needs a lot of help, but doesn't qualify for it. She falls through the cracks.

I'm really confused. If she is this far behind, why wasn't she getting more than 45 minutes a month of physical therapy? Even now, I had to request more sessions for her for the 4 months she is still in the program.

So now I'm scrambling to see if there are any other options to get help for her. :(

2. christie76

christie76 Well-Known Member

I would think if she doesn't qualify for EI, once she turns 3, maybe she would qualify through the school system. At least that's how it works here.

3. Beth*J

Beth*J Well-Known Member

EI is the school system here. She might possibly qualify through a different program (adaptive phy. ed.), but the problem is that we attend daycare in a different school district.