Needing veteran mommies' opinions

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by wpitlik1, Apr 24, 2010.

1. wpitlik1

wpitlik1 Member

Dear Twin Friends;

My husband and I are 22 weeks pregnant with di/di twins, genders unknown. First I must thank our veteran mommies - as I read your posts I have learned more about twins here than I think anywhere else! It has helped me prepare, make a list, establish a plan for visitation, and most of all, is a source of support - which is why I turn to you all now.

I am a full-time teacher of high school - it is a good, but very stressful job, and I am the breadwinner inour family, so deciding to be home with my babies,unfortunately, is not an option. My husband and I will work full-time, and are looking for a caregiver to come into our home. My family is huge, and all love babies, but will likely not be of much help to us after they are born, as they ALL live 3 1/2 hours away. My hubby's family is very small, and only his retired parents live near us. They have not yet offered their help in any way. I've read about 6 books on twin parenting, and every one says something to the effectof: "your success as a parent of multiples willbe greatly determined by the amount of family support you have." Here in lies the concern: We asked my in-laws to take our babies one day a month. We thought this might allow them "grandparent bonding" as well as give our caregiver a day off. Of course, they would pick the day, and we would drop the babies off with them. I was stunned, hurt and disappointed (actually in disbelief) when they said they would need to "think about it" - and sounded none too excited. I honestly can't believe it. They have parented 3 babies themselves, and would have one another to rely on. His mother said, "I don't know if I'd be able to handle two babies." She is a young 60ish, and they are retired with no hobbies. Of course, we thought they would be tickled. I'm trying not to be angry, but the truth is, I AM - and it fuels my