Does everyone find out gender?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by Christene, Mar 26, 2010.

1. Christene

Christene Member

Hi all!

I'm brand new to TS and am 8 weeks pregnant with twins after three long years of trying naturally and doing IVF. We couldn't be more thrilled! One thing I'm wondering about is the question of finding out the sex of the babies. We'd been planning all along not to find out, but now are wondering if not finding out with twins makes us a little crazy. Would love to hear opinions - especially if you didn't find out.

Thanks,
    Chris

2. WaterGuzzler

WaterGuzzler Well-Known Member

When we got pg I told DH that I didn't want to find out this time. Then we found out they were twins so I wavered a bit, but finally decided that I still didn't want to know. BUT, then we found out they were sick so I wanted to know for the bonding since we didn't know if they would even survive. It was all psychological, I'm sure :)

I would have loved to be surprised so I say go for it! I didn't feel that way with my first two--I had to know with them and couldn't imagine how anyone wouldn't want to find out the gender.

3. becasquared

becasquared Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I totally wanted to find out. I'm such a planner, I *needed* to know. But that's me, you might not need to know like I did. However, if you end up getting lots of ultrasounds, you might find out accidently!

4. Minette

Minette Well-Known Member

I was like you (right down to the 3 years of TTC and IVF!). I had planned not to find out, but when I learned it was twins, I decided I wanted to know. There were so many things about twins that I was unsure about, I thought it might at least help my anxiety level to know whether we needed to pick girls' names or boys' names!

It also gave me something to tell people, since we weren't sharing the names we had picked until after they were born.