Obstetric Cholestasis

Discussion in 'Pregnancy Help' started by mish_lewis, Sep 8, 2009.

1. mish_lewis

mish_lewis Well-Known Member

I am waiting for results from my blood test for Obstetric Cholestasis (sometimes called ICP or OC).
    I have itching all over, mostly on my hands and feet. It gets really bad in the evening.
    ICP happens when bile salts build up in your blood due to issues with the liver and I read that it can be harmful to the babies.
    Has anyone else experienced this….or something like it?

2. leahkatebrown

leahkatebrown Well-Known Member

Fortunately, I have no experience with OC. But I was worried about it at my last OB appt because I had started to itch to the point I thought I was headed to the loony bin. I asked my dr, and he looked at me and wasn't at all concerned- said that mine is most likely caused by my ridiculous swelling. As my skin stretches to accomodate- mostly in my hands and feet- it causes the itching. Mine is worse at night also. You're doing the right thing by getting the test, obviously...but in the meanwhile I wanted to offer up another explanation so maybe you won't worry as much. Good luck!

3. jmk71171

jmk71171 Active Member

I had it when I was pregnant with my son (only a singleton) and I fully expect it to return with the twins. I mainly had itching on my feet and hands and a bit on my legs. They gave me some prescription - not sure what it was, but I had no side effects and the itching went away almost immediately. The entire situation went away immediately after I gave birth. I really didn't worry about it too much to be honest. I'm almost 22 weeks along now and no signs yet.

4. mish_lewis

Thanks.....
    but I just returned from the doctors office and I have it :(
    My doctor is consulting with the perinatal dr to come up with a plan of action. If yours gets worse at night and you are not showing signs of dry skin, just itchiness. I would insist on the test.

5. mish_lewis

That is great news!