Extra-curricular activities

Discussion in 'The Toddler Years(1-3)' started by ldrane, Jul 14, 2009.

1. ldrane

ldrane Well-Known Member

Do you find yourselves declining invites to be on boards/groups/councils since having twins? Like for the PTA or through your church or whatever?

I have been asked numerous times to be on different committees and what not. Lately, I have been turning them down. Part of me feels guilty because I am a SAHM. It is not like I am involved in a ton of activities. I am a sunday school teacher and I am the music leader for our VBS (which is a big deal and takes about 4-6 months preparation). I just find with the twins age right now, it is difficult to do alot of extras. It is just not worth it. Our at home life is busy enough and I feel like I shouldn't add to it. Do you all ever feel that way? Or am I using the twin card as an excuse?? Is having twin toddlers a good enough excuse to decline?

2. Leighann

Leighann Well-Known Member

I think the question is do you WANT to do these things? I decline some things that I just don't want to do and now that I have an "excuse" I feel like I can say no. But I still do lots of things that I enjoy doing too.

3. becasquared

becasquared Well-Known Member TS Moderator

Yeah, I don't feel obligated to do the things that I used to do.

4. kingeomer

kingeomer Well-Known Member TS Moderator

I've never been offered to be on councils/groups/boards, etc :blush: However, with the twins being so little, I would probably decline due to the time factor, plus my DH works an odd schedule so I would have to factor in a child care coverage as well.
    If your interests reside more in home life, that is cool, you can always politely decline by saying you cannot give the position your best focus right now but that you are honored to be asked.

5. ldwa

ldwa Well-Known Member