How much extra school supplies do you buy?

Discussion in 'Childhood and Beyond (4+)' started by rissakaye, Jul 8, 2009.

1. rissakaye

rissakaye Well-Known Member TS Moderator

Since this is my first year at buying school supplies, I was wondering how much extra you buy? Our list is pretty basic: 2 boxes of crayons, 1 folder, glue, pencils, markers. I know the folders are used to go back and forth and between the parent and teacher every day. At $.15 a piece, I bought 2 of every color they had and extra of purple. I know we'll be replacing those through out the year. I went ahead and bought an extra box of crayons for each child also.

So what are the items you found yourself replacing throughout the year? How much extra did you stock up on?

Marissa

2. mich17

mich17 Well-Known Member

We had bought everything that was on the suggested list for the kids when the started K but once they each had their own teacher they wanted different items. We had some extras & needed alot more. If I already had them, I sent everything in. I also asked throughout the year if they needed anything else.
    I helped Jason's teacher pack up at the end of this year & you would be really surprised at the number of parents who hadn't even sent in things like folders for the kids. If you have the extras then I would send them in. If some of the things came in multiples then buy them too if you can afford that. The teachers can always use the stuff.

3. sharongl

sharongl Well-Known Member

For Marcus, I ended up replacing his crayons about 6 times! Jonathan got one extra box around mid-year. This year they are asking for 4 boxes per kid, with the Wal-mart deal, I got them each 5 boxes. Our list is huge, so I probably won't get many extras. I mean, they each need 5 boxes of pencils--I can't imagine them really needing many more pencils than that!